cnlab UX Test - Speedtest
About us
Dr. Peter Heinzmann, Prof. em. HSR


Founder and Partner cnlab information technology research AG


Peter Heinzmann founded cnlab itr ag together with Paul Schöbi in 1997. Until 2019 he was CTO and led the projects in the areas of performance and user experience benchmarking. At the same time, he was professor for information security and computer networks at the HSR Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil.

Since 2020 Peter Heinzmann has transferred the management to Eric Franke. He continues to work on cnlab performance benchmarking projects and leads the courses for corporate data protection officers.


Electrical Engineering at ETH, Zurich, Switzerland

Dipl. El. Ing. ETH

Dr. sc. Techn. ETH


Native Language



Other Languages

English (fluent), French (fluent)


Year of birth



Professional Experience


  • 1997 till today
    cnlab Information Technology Research AG, Rapperswil, Switzerland
    Partner and Technical Director
  • 1991 till 2019 (part time since 1998)
    University of Applied Sciences Eastern Switzerland, HSR Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil
    Professor for Information Security and Computer Networks, Continued education courses (Internet Technologies, Information Security and Privacy)
  • 1987 - 1991
    Research Staff Member, IBM Research Division, Zurich Research Laboratory, Rueschlikon, Switzerland, High-Speed LAN/MAN group, focusing on architectural and network reconfiguration issues
  • 1984 - 1987
    Institute for Communications Technology, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland
    Leading the research group "Fiber Optics and Local Area Networking"
  • 1979 - 1984
    Institute for Communications Technology, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland
    Assistant and PhD student to Prof. Dr. P. Leuthold working in number theory, cryptography, fiber optics and LAN/MAN
Christian Birchler
Patrick Eichler
Eric Franke
Lukas Frey
Prof. Dr. Peter Heinzmann
Peter Huber
Raphael Juchli
Martin Knecht
Stefan Kunz
Thomas Lüthi
Dominic Peisker
Dr. Paul Schöbi
Dr. Zuzana Trubini
Stephan Verbücheln
Martin Kaufmann
René Vogt
Dr. Urs Wagner
Daniel Zimmermann